International Conference on Road and Airfield Pavement Technology

The International Committee on Pavement Technology (ICPT) is a non-profit non-governmental organization hosted by the Centre for Transportation Research of the National University of Singapore. The ICPT was established in 1992 under an agreement between the Centre for Transportation Research, National University of Singapore, and the Pavement Engineering Society (Singapore). The permanent secretariat of the ICPT is hosted by the Centre for Transportation Research, National University of Singapore.

Pavement Technological Advancement

The objectives of ICPT is to promote pavement technological advancement worldwide, with special emphasis in pavement technological development in developing countries, by encouraging exchange and transfer of pavement technology among professionals and researchers of different countries and regions, through organizing technology transfer activities such as international conferences.

The first ICPT conference was held in Singapore in 1993 as a Southeast Asian regional event focusing on pavement construction and maintenance technology. This event received highly encouraging response from 6 countries, including Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Australia and Singapore. It was the success and positive experience of the first conference that led to the decision to launch the ICPT series of international conferences, formally known as the International Conference on Road & Airfield Pavement Technology.

It is the intention of ICPT to hold the ICPT conferences in East Asia so as to benefit the professionals in countries of this region. By organizing the conferences, with papers from this region as well as North America, Europe and other parts of the world, it helps to promote pavement engineering R&D in this part of the world.

Since the first conference held in Singapore (1993), then, the Conference has been organized regularly every two years, hosted in Singapore (1995), China (1998, 2000, 2015), Korea (2005), Japan (2008), Thailand (2011), Taiwan (2013), Hong Kong (2017) and the last one was Malaysia (2019).